Board of Directors

Member Board Position Occupation/Employer
Heidi Jensen Chair Chief Administrative Officer for the City of Laurel
Harvey Singh Vice Chair Owner of Singh Contracting Inc., Outward Media Group and Seva Kitchen
Jennifer Stark Treasurer Stockman Bank
Jessica Gaard Past Chair Century 21
Emily Jones Member Attorney at Matovich, Keller & Murphy, P.C.
Chase Brown Member Attorney
Kent Dubeau Member Self-Employed
Dr. Erin Allen Member Pediatrician at Billings Clinic
Lynette Schwalbe Member Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education at Montana State University-Billings
Starr Emergy Member Policy Council Representative

Policy Council

Our Policy Council holds equal power to the Board of Directors, and it’s made up of elected parent representatives from each classroom. The primary purpose of Policy Council is to assist in making important decisions regarding policies, hiring and termination of employees, curriculum, and budget decisions. Policy Council members are both the voice of the classroom parents at the monthly Policy Council Meeting and the voice of Policy Council when reporting back to their Parent Committees. Policy Council members have a broader involvement in the education of all Explorers Academy children. Members play a role in building relationships between Explorers Academy and the community in which we all live.

Policy Council Position Name
Chair Jessica Esplin
Vice Chair Starr Emery
Treasurer Charity Diamond
Secretary Kira Angel


Jennifer Owen
Jennifer Owen
Executive Director

Our Management diligently oversee all operations of Explorers Academy related to the children and families we serve in our community.

Department Director Contact
Community Relations Megan Martin Email
Education Laura Zimmerman Email
Education Karin Fitzgerald Email
Enrollment and Attendance (ERSEA) Jennifer Thorson Email
Family and Community Partnerships Janice King Email
Finance Vacant Email
Human Resources Dee Dee Kane Email
Nutrition Kathy Huck Email
Operations Vacant Email